Insurance Defence

Torkin Manes’ Insurance Defence Group is well known in the insurance industry as a boutique of seasoned insurance trial lawyers, dedicated to providing in-depth legal services, whatever the insurance situation.

As part of a firm that prides itself on knowing its clients’ business priorities and providing practical advice so clients can reach their objectives, we are steeped in the needs of the insurance industry. We know that our clients want prompt resolution of cases. We also know that some cases must be fought to the end if our clients’ business priorities are to be protected. All of our insurance litigators, both senior and junior, have court experience. We prepare each case thoroughly, so that we can settle to our clients’ satisfaction whenever possible, or win in the courtroom when we have to. 

Our clients are leading commercial and personal lines insurers, underwriting policies of property insurance, general liability insurance, professional errors and omissions insurance, and excess and umbrella insurance. We represent them in property and casualty disputes, coverage issues, policy and statutory interpretation, special risks, arson, and fraudulent and exaggerated claims. We have special expertise in complex, multi-party litigation, class actions, sporting events, professional negligence and automobile tort claims.

Members of our Insurance Defence Group represent clients at all levels of court, coroner's inquests, tribunal hearings, arbitrations, and mediations. We also assist insurers in the investigation of claims, including conducting examinations of insureds under oath. We frequently advise clients on risk management and risk analysis. With seven insurance litigators of varying levels of experience, we have the right litigator for every need, from trials in Small Claims Court to appeals before the Supreme Court of Canada.

Some of our many Insurance Defence services include:

  • Arson
  • Class action defence
  • Complex, multiparty litigation
  • Coverage analysis
  • Fraud
  • General liability
  • Motor vehicle claims
  • Property and casualty disputes
  • Risk management and risk analysis
  • Special risks
  • Sports and entertainment events

Mark B. Harrington

Practice Group Lead

Tel: 416 777 5358  Fax: 1 888 497 8648
Email: mharrington@torkinmanes.com

Sandra De Carolis

Tel: 416 777 5410  Fax: 1 888 812 2563
Email: sdecarolis@torkinmanes.com

Cody F. Dolgay

Tel: 416 777 5444  Fax: 1 844 275 6201
Email: cdolgay@torkinmanes.com

Kayla Kwinter

Tel: 416 777 5420  Fax: 1 888 732 6510
Email: kkwinter@torkinmanes.com

Mornelle Lee

Tel: 416 360 4734  Fax: 1 888 823 9020
Email: mlee@torkinmanes.com

Sudevi Mukherjee-Gothi

Tel: 416 777 5427  Fax: 1 888 587 9137
Email: smukherjee-gothi@torkinmanes.com

Isana Nagla

Tel: 416 777 5190  Fax: 1 888 463 8127
Email: inagla@torkinmanes.com

Christopher Valente

Tel: 416 643 8802  Fax: 1 888 554 6182
Email: cvalente@torkinmanes.com

Practice Group Lead(s)

Mark B. Harrington 416 777 5358 mharrington@torkinmanes.com

Practice Group Lawyers

Sandra De Carolis 416 777 5410 sdecarolis@torkinmanes.com
Cody F. Dolgay 416 777 5444 cdolgay@torkinmanes.com
Kayla Kwinter 416 777 5420 kkwinter@torkinmanes.com
Mornelle Lee 416 360 4734 mlee@torkinmanes.com
Sudevi Mukherjee-Gothi 416 777 5427 smukherjee-gothi@torkinmanes.com
Isana Nagla 416 777 5190 inagla@torkinmanes.com
Christopher Valente 416 643 8802 cvalente@torkinmanes.com

Practice Group Clerks

Michelle Borg 416 863 1220 ext 245 mborg@torkinmanes.com
Back to all Services